Celebrate the 8 and win?

Happy Birthday to the 8 Blog!  So, it has been a year since I started this blogging adventure and I wanted to mix things up a little to celebrate the 8’s birthday.  For the last year, I’ve been sharing ideas for how educators can build more social learning experiences into their classes.  I have introduced blogs, wikis, social networks, Google Docs and bunch of other tools that can make classrooms more collaborative environments for student learning.  Despite its meager beginning, the 8 Blog has been a real success.  Almost 3,000 visitors have checked out the blog in the last year and visitors have come from 27 different countries across the globe.  Even though I teach my students about the power of social media, I’ve honestly been very humbled by this entire experience.

But one of my original objectives with starting this blog was to foster conversations around teaching with technology.  While I’ve received a few emails from readers and a few people have commented on posts I’ve made, the online discourse has been limited.  Rather than post a new idea this week, I’m encouraging my readers to go to the 8 Blog and post a comment. You can share an idea for a future post or talk about a project you’ve developed with one of the tools I’ve featured.  You can respond to a comment from another reader or just say “Hello.”  Whatever participation you choose, stop by the 8 Blog and post a comment.  Next Monday, I’ll randomly select one person who has left a comment and send him or her a copy of Blogs, Wikis and Podcasts by Will Richardson.  It’s my way of thanking all of you for your loyal readership and support this last year.

5 thoughts on “Celebrate the 8 and win?

  1. Although I am not a teacher yet, I find your blog very interesting and I plan to follow it now that I am aware of it. I don’t have anything interesting to say…so, hello!

  2. Happy 1st Birthday to Blog8!! Unfortunately, I don’t get to explore and investigate new tools as often as I would like. But through this Blog I make sure I check out a new tool at least once a week. Thanks!!

  3. I think the 8-blog is fabulous – always look forward to hearing about new tools (many of which are new to me) and considering how individuals and organizations might be able to use them. I also def think we should do some kind of MU blogging event/panel/day/something! Great work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

