My summer reading list

I find that I’m always reading.  Whether it’s journal articles that folks send me or blog posts that I come across in my Twitter feed (@ollied), I find that I’m always reading something.  But this summer, I wanted to be a little more intentional and plan out a list of books to tackle.  In this week’s post, I thought I’d share the current (but still developing) list and some of my rationale for selecting the books.  If you have any book suggestions, please use the comment section to make your recommendations.

1.  Think like a Freak by Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubnar.  I finished this book a week ago and sought the book out after hearing an interview with the authors on NPR.  My goal is to use some of their “freakonomics” techniques to inform some of the planning in my institution’s Teaching and Learning Center.

2.  Mindset by Carol Dweck.  I read a fascinating article a few weeks ago about work being done at the University of Texas with at-risk students and how they work to change the mindset of the students and the faculty to value and promote hard work over ability.  I’m about two thirds of the way through the book and I can see it’s potential as a great text for a professional learning community on campus.

3.  Teaching Naked by Jose Antonio Bowen.  It’s not what you think.  I’m not planning to take off my clothes and teach students.  The book focuses on moving technology out of the classroom to support student learning.  In an era of increased flipping and blending, I’m really interested in the premise of the book and how it can inform my work on campus.

4.  The Student Loan Mess by Joel and Eric Best.  This book was selected as the text for the Chronicle Book Club’s Summer Reading.  While I’m not formally participating in the Book Club, I plan to lurk through the online chapter discussions as I’m reading.  The first chapter discussion started yesterday (June 9, 2014) and can be accessed at the Chronicle website if you are interested.

5.  Real Talk for Real Teachers by Rafe Esquith.  I teach in the Professional Development School at my institution.  The PDS uses innovative methods to apprentice new teachers into the profession.  To help foster community across all members of the group, we select a common reading for students and faculty.  Real Talk for Real Teachers was selected after a few of us saw Rafe Esquith speak at the PDS conference this spring.  If you want to follow along, our group will be tweeting as we read using the hashtags #Rafe and #MUPDS.

6.  The Gamification of Learning and Instruction by Karl Kapp.  A colleague and I are exploring game-based professional development on our campus.  We’re reading this text (and a few others) to inform the development of the project.  I hope to be blogging more about the project in the fall once we have a pilot underway.

7.  The Ignorant Schoolmaster by Jacques Ranciere.  A colleague handed me a copy of this book after I mentioned that I was reading Mindset.  While Mindset offers tons of practical examples from sports and business, the Ignorant Schoolmaster provides a more philosophical bent on education and “intellectual emancipation.”  Paired together, they should provide contrasting and complementary views on teaching and learning.

3 thoughts on “My summer reading list

  1. Thanks for the suggestions Ollie! I just purchased the Gamification book because I’m working on developing some PD around it after finding some inspiration from AJ Juliani here: http://ajjuliani.com/gamify-professional-development-school/.

    As for recommendations, I’m in the middle of Drive by Daniel Pink. I feel a bit behind in reading this now because it has received so much attention, but nonetheless, I’m almost halfway through and would recommend it!

  2. Pingback: My summer reading list | The 8 Blog

Leave a Reply

