On my reading list

Summer is approaching and I’m putting together my reading list.  While I’ve never been one to sit on a beach and read, I do like to create a list of books that I’d like to tackle while I’m away from campus.  Here are a few I’ve added to the list so far:

1.  Minds Online: Teaching Effectively with Technology – This has been on my reading list for a while.  I’ve had a copy sitting on my desk for the last few months and I’ve been trying to find the time to read it.  The book is written by Michelle Miller, a professor of psychological sciences and co-director of the first-year learning program at Northern Arizona University.  In the text, Miller discusses the educational value of teaching online.  As someone who teaches a lot online, I’m anxious to see how she frames educational access and discusses the benefits online learning.

2.  ZigZag: The Surprising Path to Greater Creativity – A colleague recommended this as a possible book for a faculty learning community on campus.  The book identifies different strategies to increasing creative potential and could be a great resource for those of us who work with students in educational contexts.

3.  Talk like TED –  I’m one of the plenary speakers for the Teaching Professor Technology Conference this fall and I’m looking for ways to liven up my address.  A friend suggested that I check out this book to learn the “nine public speaking techniques of the world’s top minds.”  While it may not alleviate my anxiety, it may make my presentation a little stronger.

4.  It’s Complicated: The Social Lives of Networked Teens – As a dad of a teenager, I’m a little nervous about my daughter’s online activity and I hope this book will help me be a more informed parent.  Through exhaustive interviews with teenagers, the author, Danah Boyd, examines how teenagers use technology to interact with their peers.  A colleague has been using the book in her Legal and Ethical Issues in Online Education course and her students have loved the text.

5.  Twenty One Trends for the 21st Century: Out of the Trenches and Into the Future – This book just showed up on my radar recently.  Written by Gary Marx, the book examines different worldwide trends that are going to significantly impact the next century.  Concepts like diversity, sustainability and privacy are going to loom heavily on society and the book could be a good resource for creating some campus faculty development in the coming academic year.

 

3 thoughts on “On my reading list

  1. Pingback: Teach like TED |

  2. Pingback: Top Post from 2015 – Part 2 |

  3. Pingback: My summer reading list | The 8 Blog

Leave a Reply

